Another Win For Seamus Hayes

July 7, 2014

For the second time in just four day’s, Tipperary’s Seamus Hayes landed a round of the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league, this time at Clonmel Show, which hosted round seven of the hugely successful series.

Hayes had been in top form at Tallow Gymkhana on Thursday, where he came out on top with the Tina McDermott owned Chipolini VMZ and at Clonmel he gave the home crowd a local winner, riding his own Heartbreaker gelding Twister to victory after seven of the 35 starters went through to the jump-off.

Seamus Hayes and Twister Win the Clonmel Round of the Connolly's RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix

In what was an incredibly tight finish, just seventeen hundredths of a second separated the top three, with Seamus Hayes and Twister crossing the finish line clear in 34.62 seconds, fractionally ahead of current league-leader Francis Connors who took runner up spot at Clonmel with Uskerty Diamond Lady (34.71), a combination who were winners at Charleville Show the previous week.

Liam O Meara, who took second place at Tallow, once again finished on the podium taking third place with Mr Coolcaum when clear in 34.79 seconds, while his fellow Tipperary native Emma Murphy, who is still riding in the junior ranks, slotted into fourth with Grannie Murphy’s Apache Van de Lange Vos.

Francis Connors and Hyperion took fifth while Seamus Hayes and Barichello W finished sixth, just ahead of the only other clear from the first round, Ethen Ahearne who grabbed seventh spot with Arbutus Ohio.

The next round of the  Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league takes place at Cork Summer Show on Saturday 12 July, with second placed Seamus Hayes now just ten points behind league leader Francis Connors. Liam O Meara has moved into third place with Peter Moloney now in fourth.

Full ​Result – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Round 7 – Clonmel Show – 06 July 2014
1. Seamus Hayes/Twister 0/0 34.62
2. Francis Connors/Uskerty Diamond Lady 0/0 34.71
3. Liam O Meara/Mr Coolcaum 0/0 34.79
4. Emma Murphy/Apache Van de Lange Vos 0/0 37.42
5. Francis Connors/Hyperion 0/0 37.85
6. Seamus Hayes/Barichello W 0/0 41.58
7. Ethen Ahearne/Arbutus Ohio 0/4 43.44
8. Phillip Horgan/Happyboy Van de Doornakkers 4/ 85.74

35 Starters

7 Into Jump-off