Battle for 2017 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League to Reach Conclusion at Banteer

August 30, 2017

Just one more round remains in the 2017 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league, with the overall title still hanging in the balance after 14 fascinating rounds of jumping at venues throughout the province.

Last weekend’s penultimate round at Dualla in Co Tipperary saw a local winner, as Nenagh’s Liam O’Meara came out on top with Kenny’s Flight, after they produced the fastest clear of the jump-off in 35.56 seconds. Waterford’s Paddy O’Donnell finished as runner-up with Minority Report, while O’Meara also took third place on the podium with Curraghgraigue Jack Take Flight. Francis Connors and BP Castlefield came home in fourth ahead of Louis Delplace and Lowhill Showdown in fifth, while Madeline Roberts Allen came home in sixth with Daroento VDL.

A week earlier, the Cork/Kerry Gymkhana had hosted the 13th round of the series, while Tralee’s Maura Counihan stormed to victory with Killerisk Minnie. They finished over two seconds ahead of Patrick Joyce in second with Piltown S, while Cork-born Joyce also filled third place with Dusty Dude. Waterford’s Gemma Phelan finished fifth with GRC Quasar. Cork’s Abbie Sweetnam, who recently won a team gold medal at the European Pony Championships, finished fifth with One And Only Sparticus, ahead of Gemma Phelan and GRC Acapella in sixth.



The 2017 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league will come to a close at Banteer Gymkhana in Co Cork on Sunday September 17th, with two riders fighting it out in the battle to be crowned champion. Francis Connors holds the upper hand with Capitol Cruis on 40 points. Cork’s Timmy Doyle meanwhile is just five points behind in second with JS Bucks and with 10 points on offer for a win the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league looks set for a thrilling finale.

Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Cork/Kerry Show 20/08/2017
1st Maura Counihan/Killerisk Minnie 0/0 45.02
2nd Patrick Joyce/Piltown S  0/0 47.39
3rd Patrick Joyce/Dusty Dude 0/4 47.77
4th Gemma Phelan GRC Quasar 0/4 50.98
5th Abbie Sweetnam/One And Only Sparticus 0/4 52.96
6th  Gemma Phelan/GRC Acapella 0/4 55.48

Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League  – Dualla, Co Tipperary 27/08/2017
1st Liam O’Meara/Kenny’s Flight 0/0 35.56
2nd Paddy O’Donnell/Minority Report 0/0 36.98
3rd Liam O’Meara/Curraghgraigue Jack Take Flight 0/0 39.60
4th Francis Connors/BP Castlefield 0/0 40.40
5th Louis Delplace/Lowhill Showdown 0/0 41.53
6th Madeline Roberts Allen 0/0 Daroento VDL 0/0 44.80