Beecher and Danqu Win Maryville Round of the Munster Grand Prix League

August 9, 2016

The battle between Waterford pair Paul Beecher and Francis Connors, to see who will be crowned 2016 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League champion continued at Maryville in Cork last weekend, with Beecher coming out on top this time round with Danqu.

11 of the 42 starters made it through to the jump-off, with Beecher posting the winning clear against the clock with the Seryna Van Kuelen-owned Danqu.

Francis Connors however still holds the overall lead at the top of the table, having finished as runner-up in Maryville with Capitol Cruis. Connors also grabbed third place with Uskerty Diamond Lady and took sixth place with Primo Troy.

Waterford riders filled all of the top six places, with Colligan’s Peter Moloney finishing fourth with Five Star Quality and fifth with Compelling Z. Tipperary’s Seamus Hayes produced the fastest four fault round of the jump-off to finish seventh with Barichello W, while Peter Moloney also filled eighth place with Chatterbox Z.

The Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League now moves to Tallow Gymkhana in Waterford, for the next round of action on Thursday, 18 August.

Result – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Maryville, Cork 6 August 2016
1. Paul Beecher/Danqu 0/0 37.37
2. Francis Connors/Capitol Cruis 0/0 38.12
3. Francis Connors/Uskerty Diamond Lady 0/0 39.89
4. Peter Moloney/Five Star Quality 0/0 45.50
5. Peter Moloney/Compelling Z 0/0 46.11
6. Francis Connors/Primo Troy 0/0 49.47
7. Seamus Hayes/Barichello W 0/4 42.56
8. Peter Moloney/Chatterbox Z 0/4 44.93

42 Starters
11 into jump-off

League Standings following Maryville
1. Francis Connors & Capitol Cruis 60 points
2. Francis Connors & Uskerty Diamond Lady 52 points
3. Paul Beecher & Danqu 49 points
4. Paul Beecher & Loughnatousa Eric 45 points
5. Peter Moloney & Arbutus Ohio 33 points