Connors Extends Lead In Munster Grand Prix League

June 8, 2015

Francis Connors and Uskerty Diamond Lady continued their remarkable winning streak in the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League, by winning the fifth round of the series at Ballinamona in Waterford – to extend their lead at the top of the league table.
​Francis Connors and Uskerty Diamond Lady extend their lead at Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League. Photo credit -
Connors and the Hilda Anthony owned mare had already two Munster wins to their name this season and added a third on home soil in Ballinamona against the largest starting field of the year so far, where 16 of the 40 starters made it into the jump-off.

Kilkenny junior rider Jack Ryan produced a superb performance to take second place with Cavalier Teaca, while Liam O’Meara slotted into third place with Realt na Carraig. Francis Connors also took fourth place with Capital Cruise, just ahead of another Waterford rider Tholm Keane who finished fifth with Future Storm, just ahead of Kilkenny’s Eddie Moloney in sixth with Douglas Hill.

Waterford riders also dominated the FBD Speed Series at Ballinamona, with Fenor’s Paddy O’Donnell scoring a hard fought win with his own Casimira, a seven year old mare by Camiro de Haar Z.

O’Donnell finished with over half a second to spare over runner up Liam O’Meara with Billy Boston, while Dungarvan young rider  Nicolas Connors guided Lantino 31 into third while he also took fourth place with Just Jump.

On a day when Waterford’s hurlers overcame Cork in the Munster Championship Semi Final, Paddy O’Donnell completed a great sporting day for the Deise by also taking fifth place with Quantum Champagne, while Tipperary’s Seamus Hayes completed the top six with Dilona Blue.

The Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league and FBD Speed Series now move to Limerick with the Munster Region Show taking place this Sunday, 14 June.

Result – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Ballinamona, Co. Waterford –  7 June 2015
1.    Francis Connors/Uskerty Diamond Lady 0/0 29.69
2.    Jack Ryan/Cavalier Teaca  0/0  31.48
3.    Liam O’Meara/Realt na Carraig 0/0 31.99
4.    Francis Connors/Capital Cruise 0/0  32.28
5.    Tholm Keane/Future Storm 0/0 32.44
6.    Eddie Moloney/Douglas Hill  0/0 36.53
7.    Anna Caraway/Ajaccio  0/0 36.85
8.    Sophia Richards/ Vagabond de Kezas  0/0 38.13
40 Starters
16 through to jump off

Result – FBD Speed Series – Ballinamona, Co. Waterford – 7 June 2015
1.    Paddy O Donnell/Casimira 0/0 26.25
2.    Liam O’Meara/Billy Boston 0/0 26.76
3.    Nicolas Connors/Lantino 31  0/0 27.00
4.    Nicolas Connors/Just Jump 0/0 27.13
5.    Paddy O Donnell/Quantum Champagne 0/0 27.15
6.    Seamus Hayes/Dilona Blue 0/0 27.37

46 Starters