Dalcassian Gun Dog Club’s 2013 Report

January 20, 2014

“Dalcassian Gun Dog Club was founded in 1993 by two spaniel men Mr Declan Mulcahy and Mr Joe Keane and for seven years ran Section Four (Spaniel) events.

Dalcassian Gun Dog Club was re-affiliated in May 2013 and now is predominately a Section Two (Retriever) Club with The Irish Kennel Club and with the new young and very keen and active committee members in the first eight months of re-affiliation we ran five events.

First was a Working Test in July at Dromoland Castle Estate, Mr John O’Connor won the Advanced Test with “Hazel of Redbog”, Mr John O’Brien won the Novice with “Corrib Dubh” and Mr John Gaffney won the Preliminary with “Millmount Temptation”.

Next event was the start of the field trial season and we ran a 16 Dog Novice Stake in September at The Breska Shoot thanks to The Harty Family and the winner that day was Mr Donal Donohue with “Georgais Holystone”.

Our first 16 Dog Open Stake Trial was held at the Mulberry Shoot thanks to the owner Mr John Forde, this trial was run in November and the winner that day was Mr Thomas Loughran with “Copperbirch Roosky”.

Our second Open Stake was ran in December and it was also a 16 dog Stake and was held at Lough Cutra Castle Shoot thanks to the owner Susie Gwyn Jones  and the winner that day was Mr John Williamson with “Gorton’s Gaelic Prince”.

Our third Open Stake was a 12 dog stake on new ground for field trials in Bruff, Co Limerick thanks to Bruff Gun Club and the local land owners. Like all of our events so far this was also a great day out for all involved. The winner that day was Mr Michael Sheehan with “Quarrypool Julie”.

We the committee of Dalcassian Gun Dog Club would like to congratulate all the award winners from all our events and to thank the landowners and Gun Clubs for the permission to use their grounds. We would like to thank all the judges who have judged so far for us and we also want to thank our sponsors Connolly’s Red Mills Engage Premium Dog Food for kindly sponsoring all our events.

Thanks to our committee members Keith McNamara (Chairman), Keith Harris (Vice Chairman), Paul O’Brien (Secretary) David Woods (Assistant Secretary), Trevor Howard and our Treasurer and Photographer for all our events Ms Jana Scupakova for the memories of our days in the field and we are all looking forward to more great days in the beautiful countryside of the island of Ireland.”