Hayes Wins Munster Grand Prix at Limerick

August 24, 2015

The Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league resumed at Limerick show on Sunday after a break for the Dublin Horse Show and Millstreet international, with Seamus Hayes taking victory with his own gelding Twister.

A tough competition saw just four clears from the first round make it into the jump-off, with Fethard based Hayes finishing with a winning margin of just over three seconds aboard the 15-year-old son of Heartbreaker. Liam O’Meara added to his points tally by finishing as runner-up with Curraghgraigue Jack Take Fligh, while David Moran took third place with Derg Showtime.

Zoe McElligott was the only other rider to make it into the jump-off, finishing with four faults aboard Knockatee Lad to take fourth place. Liam O’Meara was the fastest of the four-faulters from the first round with Mr Coolcaum to take fifth, just ahead of Peter Leonard who finished sixth with Bastion.

FBD Speed Series

Galway’s Amanda Fahy added her name to the list of FBD Speed Series winners, taking the latest round of the popular competition at Limerick show. Fahy’s victory came with Lackyle Limited Edition, in a tight contest which saw just over half-a-second separate the top three finishers.

Cliona Costello finished as runner-up with Annestown Clover Concorde, while Zoe McElligott and Knockatee Lad took third place. Tralee’s Maura Counihan and Killerisk Minnie slotted into fourth place, while local rider Peter Leonard finished fifth with Ringwood Zebo. Maura Counihan took another slice of the prize fund by taking sixth place with Coral Du Carel.

The Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league and FBD Speed  Series now move to Scarrif show in Clare this Saturday (29 August) before moving to Dualla in Tipperary a day later.

Result – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league, Limerick Show Sunday 23 August 2015
1. Seamus Hayes/Twister (Kwpn) 0/0 31.21
2. Liam O’Meara/Curraghgraigue Jack Take Fligh 0/0 34.48
3. David Moran/Derg Showtime 0/0 35.09
4. Zoe McElligott/Knockatee Lad 0/4 36.93
5. Liam O’Meara/Mr Coolcaum 4/ 87.87
6. Peter Leonard/Bastion 4/ 91.50

17 Starters
4 Into jump-off

Result – FBD Speed Series Limerick Show Sunday 23 August 2015
1. Amanda Fahy/Lackyle Limited Edition 0/0 39.07
2. Cliona Costello/Annestown Clover Concorde 0/0 39.37
3. Zoe McElligott/Knockatee Lad 0/0 39.44
4. Maura Counihan/Killerisk Minnie 0/0 40.14
5. Peter Leonard/Ringwood Zebo 0/0 42.80
6. Maura Counihan/Coral Du Carel 0/0 43.89

29 Starters