Liam O’Meara and Ger O’Neill score wins on busy weekend of Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league action

July 4, 2017

A double bill of Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league action at the weekend saw Liam O’Meara win at West Clare, while Ger O’Neill came out on top at Clonmel show.
West Clare hosted round seven of the series on Saturday and Tipperary’s Liam O’Meara scored a comprehensive win with his own nine-year-old gelding Kennysflight. They crossed the line clear in 35.60 seconds in the 10 horse jump-off, three seconds ahead of runner-up Sven Hadley with Wood Stock De Breve.
Galway’s Joseph O’Brien took third place with CV Santander (39.19), while Andrew Hodgins filled fourth place with Bobello (39.87) and also finished fifth with Sandra (44.53). David Moran and Derg Showtime completed the top six, with the fastest four fault score of the jump-off.
Round eight of the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League took place a day later at Clonmel Show on Sunday. Kilkenny’s Ger O’Neill and the eight-year-old gelding Billy Anchor took the winners prize after a hugely competitive 15-way jump-off.
O’Neill and Billy Anchor stopped the clock clear in 40.50 seconds to push Waterford’s Gemma Phelan and GRC Acapella into second place (41.33). Kildare’s Michel Pender continued his impressive form in the Munster Grand Prix league and took third place with HHS Washington (41.35) and also finished sixth with Casanova Van Overis Z (46.94). Jonathan Andrews and The Hurricane finished fourth (41.62), just ahead of reigning champion Francis Connors and Newmarket Clare Lady in fifth (43.08).
The ninth round of the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League will take place at Cork Summer Show this Sunday July 9th.
RESULTS – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Round 7  West Clare 01/07/2017
1st Liam O’Meara/Kennysflight 0/0 35.60
2nd Sven Hadley/Wood Stock De Breve 0/0 38.55
3rd Joseph O’Brien/CV Santander0/0 39.19
4th Andrew Hodgins/Bobello 0/0 39.87
5th Andrew Hodgins/Sandra 0/0 44.53
6th David Moran/Derg Showtime 0/4 41.56
7th Liam O’Meara/Kannon Clover 0/4 42.01
8th Liam O’Meara/Russel Style 0/4 43.92
18 starters
10 into jump-off
RESULTS – Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Round 8  Clonmel Show West Clare 02/07/2017

1st Ger O’Neill/Billy Anchor 0/0 40.50

2nd Gemma Phelan/GRC Acapella 0/0 41.33
3rd Michel Pender/HHS Washington 0/0 41.35
4th Jonathan Andrews/The Hurricane 0/0 41.62
5th Francis Connors/Newmarket Clare Lady 0/0 43.08
6th Michael Pender/Casanova Van opris z 0/0 46.94
7th Francis Connors BP Castlefield  0/0 55.82
8th Tholm Keane/Highly Efficient 0/4 43.21
37 starters
15 in jump off