Liam O’Meara Wins Maryville round of the Munster Grand Prix

July 27, 2015

Following a win for league leader Francis Connors two days earlier in the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix at Dungarvan, Liam O’Meara hit back in the latest round of the series at Maryville where he filled the top-two places.

Nenagh based O’Meara claimed the winners prize with Realt Na Carraig, while he also took runner-up spot with Kennys Flight. With just one more round of the series remaining before a two week break for the Dublin Horse Show and Millstreet International, O’Meara’s win at Maryville was crucial in order to stay in touch with leader Connors.

Phillip Horgan finished third with Cavalier Cruiser, while young rider Nicolas Connors continued to impress, taking fourth place with Lantino 31. Corrine Hyde and Lux Like Clover One slotted into fifth place, with Peter Leonard and Baston completing the top six, who all produced double clear rounds.

Happy Horgan in FBD Speed Series

Rory Horgan riding Ballyvadd Olympic Clover claimed a commanding victory in the FBD Speed Series at Maryville, coming home over two seconds ahead of his nearest rival.

Nicolas Connors, who has scored a number of top six finishes in the series this year, took second place with Adorable Du Talus.

Cork’s Helen Gould slotted into third with Coolatin Little George, finishing almost half a second ahead of Michael Buckley who took fourth spot with Focus Vendi. Seamus Hayes and Kilclogher Caesar took fifth place, while Carolin Huuva and Caspian finished sixth.

The Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league and FBD Speed Series now move to Blackrock Show in Cork, for the 17th round of the series on Sunday 2 August.

Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league
1. Liam O’Meara/Realt Na Carraig 0/0 35.31
2. Liam O’Meara/Kennys Flight 0/0 35.42
3. Phillip Horgan/Cavalier Cruiser 0/0 35.53
4. Nicolas Connors/Lantino 31 0/0 36.52
5. Corrine Hyde/Lux Like Clover One 0/0 38.19
6. Peter Leonard/Baston 0/0 38.71

25 Starters
8 Into jump-off

FBD Speed Series Maryville Cork 25 July 2015
1. Rory Horgan/Ballyvadd Olympic Clover 0/0 28.57
2. Nicholas Connors’Adorable Du Talus 0/0 30.93
3. Helen Gould /Coolatin Little George 0/0 31.07
4. Michael Buckley/Focus Vendi 0/0 31.53
5. Seamus Hayes/Kilclogher Caesar 0/0 32.51
6. Carolin Huuva/Caspian 0/0 33.99

54 Starters