Mickey Pender wins Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix opener at Ballylawn

May 4, 2017

The 2017 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league kicked-off at Ballylawn, Kill in Co Waterford on Bank Holiday Monday, where Kildare’s Mickey Pender came out on top with the Brendan McSorley-owned Quarrycrest Clover.

Eight of the 21 starters made it into the jump-off, with Pender guiding the 11-year-old gelding by Clover Echo out of a Cavalier Royale dam to victory. They crossed the line clear in 44.26 seconds, to deny Francis Connors  a win on his home soil at Ballylawn.
Connors filled four of the top six places, including runner-up spot with Ian Smyth’s Capitol Cruis (45.84). Reigning Connolly’s RED MILLS Grand Prix champion Paul Beecher took third place with Loughnatusa Eric, with one of five double clear rounds in 48.63. Francis Connors filled all of the next three places, finishing fourth with Centolina, fifth with Newmarket Clare Lady, while he lowered one fence against the clock with Uskerty Diamond Lady to finish sixth.
The second round of the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League will take place at  Kingdom County Show in Tralee this Sunday May 7th.
Result – 2017 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Round  1 – Ballylawn Co Waterford, Monday May 1st

1st Mickey Pender/Quarrycrest Clover 0/0 44.26

2nd Francis Connors/Capitol Cruise 0/0 45.84
3rd Paul Beecher/Loughnatusa Eric 0/0 48.63
4th Francis Connors/Centolina RB 0/0 56.41
5th Francis Connors/Newmarket Clare Lady 0/0 56.91
6th  Francis Connors/Uskerty Diamond Lady 0/4 45.86
7th Paul Beecher/Asti 71 0/4 53.14
8th Seamus Hayes/Kava de Magico 0/5 60.54.
21 starters
8 into jump-off
2017 Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league – Dates and Venues
Ballylawn, Co Waterford
1st May
Kingdom County / Tralee
7th May
Aglish, Co Waterford
21st May
Midleton, Co Cork
25th May
Killeagh, Co Cork
18th June
Charleville, Co Cork
24th June
2nd July
Tallow, Co Waterford
6th July
Cork Summer Show, Cork Showgrounds
8th July
Newcastle West, Co Limerick
16th July
Dungarvan, Co Waterford.
27th July
Dualla Show
27th August
Maryville Stables