O’Meara Brothers Dominate the Feature Classes at West Clare Show

July 5, 2015

The O’Meara brothers from Nenagh, Tipperary dominated the feature classes at West Clare Show on Saturday, with Liam O’Meara winning the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix, while his younger brother Martin O’Meara claimed the FBD Speed Series.

With Francis Connors starting to open a big gap at the top of the grand prix league table, Liam O’Meara knew he needed a good result this weekend to maintain his hopes of winning the title  – and he did just that, scoring a convincing win with Mr Coolcaum while he also finished as runner-up with Curraghaigue Jack Take Fligh.

Just six horses and riders made it into the jump-off and along with Liam O’Meara, Paul Beecher was the only other rider to produce a double clear, the former Hickstead Derby winner finishing third with Crusing Stan.

Noelle Barry and Norway Venture produced the second fastest time of the day but one fence down left them in fourth, just ahead of Maura Counihan and Killerisk Minne in fifth while Mark Duffy and Puesta De Sol completed the top six.

In the curtain opening FBD Speed Series, Martin O’Meara finished in pole position with “The Cobbler” and aptly named mount for a rider who works as a farrier. They finished half-a-second ahead of Paul Beecher who filled three of the top four places. Beecher grabbed runner-up spot with Danou, third place with Britt, while he also finished fourth with Loughnatousa Zidane.

Liam O’Meara slotted into fifth with Cloghera Me while Limerick’s Gary Cusack took sixth place aboard Van Cougar, with all of the top six producing double-clear rounds

Connolly’s RED MLLS Munster Grand Prix League – West Clare  –  4 July 2015

  1. Liam O’Meara/Mr Coolcaum 0/0 37.62
  2. Liam O’Meara/Curraghaigue Jack Take Fligh 0/0 38.86
  3. Paul Beecher/Crusing Stan 0/0 47.78
  4. Noelle Barry/ Norway Venture 0/4 38.56
  5. Maura Counihan/Killerisk Minnie 0/4 40.06
  6. Mark Duffy/Puesta De Sol 0/8 39.50

17 Starters

6 Into Jump-off

FBD Speed Series – West Clare – 4 July 2015

  1. Martin O’Meara/The Cobbler 0/0 30.80
  2. Paul Beecher/Danou 0/0  31.31
  3. Paul Beecher/Britt 0/0 31.47
  4. Paul Beecher/Loughnatousa Zidane 0/0 31/71
  5. Liam O’Meara/ Cloghera Me 0/0 31/86
  6. Gary Cusack/ Van Cougar 0/0 39.69

26 Starters