Seamus Hayes Wins at Cork Grand Prix

July 13, 2015

Cork Summer Show at Curraheen Park attracted massive entries across all classes, which resulted in Saturday’s twelfth round of the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league being changed to a two-phase competition in order to speed-up proceedings.

The change of format certainly seemed to suit Tipperary born riders, with competitors from the Premier County filling the top-two places at the finish. Fethard based Seamus Hayes scored his first Munster win of the season with his own gelding Twister, stopping the clock clear in the second phase at 27.16 seconds. Another Tipp rider, Liam O’Meara, collected valuable points in his bid to close the gap on leader Francis Connors when finishing second with Realt na Carraig, just over half a second behind the winner.

Kilkenny junior rider Jack Ryan produced a superb performance to finish ahead of a host of top riders in third place with Cavalier Teaca, while Waterford army rider Capt Geoff Curran took fourth spot with Ringwood Abbey. Peter Moloney from Colligan, Dungarvan filled fifth place with Ballyconnery Wood while Cork young rider Patrick Joyce added to his points total when finishing sixth with Piltown S, just ahead of Francis Connors who had to settle for seventh place on this occasion with Argento Cruise.

FBD Speed Series

The Cork Summer Show round of the FBD Speed Series saw almost 100 horses and riders go to post, with Meath’s Gerard Clarke and Coldbrook Tigger coming out on top after a titanic battle.  Incredibly Clarke had over three seconds to spare at the finish despite the huge amount of entries, with Paul Beecher and Britt M coming closest to catching the winner.

Kilkenny’s Ger O’Neill and Garrison Lux finished third while Galway’s Olive Clarke grabbed fourth place with Katies Clover Imp, just ahead of Peter Moloney and Valtaire in fifth while Paul Beecher also took sixth place with Loughnatousa Zidane.

The Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix league and FBD Speed Series now mover to Banner Equestrian Centre this Saturday 18th July before heading to Newcastlewest on Sunday 19 July.

Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Cork Summer Show 11 July 2015
1. Seamus Hayes/Twister 0/0 27.16
2. Liam O’Meara/Realt na Carraig 0/0 28.44
3. Jack Ryan/Cavalier Teaca 0/0 29.33
4. Captain Geoff Curran/Ringwood Abbey 0/0 30.37
5. Peter Moloney/Ballyconnery Wood 0/0 31.42
6. Patrick Joyce/Piltown S 0/0 32.94
7. Francis Connors/Argento Cruise 0/0 33.29
8. Tholm Keane/Delano W 0/0 34.24

60 Starters – Two Phase Competition

FBD Speed Series – Cork Summer Show 11 July 2015 
1. Gerard Clarke/Coldbrook Tigger 0/0 22.45
2. Paul Beecher/Britt M 0/0 25.87
3. Ger O’Neill/Garrison Lux 0/0 25.88
4. Olive Clarke/Katies Clover Imp 0/0 26.12
5. Peter Moloney/Valtaire 0/0 26.60
6. Paul Beecher/Loughnatousa Zidane 0/0 26.73

98 Starters