Wins for Tipperary’s O’Meara and Broderick in Munster Grand Prix

July 20, 2015

Tipperary riders dominated the weekend’s action in the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League with Liam O’Meara and Greg Broderick scoring wins for the premier county, at shows in Clare and Limerick.

Liam O’Meara kicked off the weekend with a comprehensive victory in the Munster Grand Prix at Banner EC in Clare, where the Nenagh based rider finished with a huge winning margin of over five seconds. O’Meara’s win came aboard Realt na Carraig, the Hadley Sport Horses owned gelding who had finished second in the previous round at Cork Summer Show.

Michael Ryan finished as runner-up with Ballylynch Wizard in one of only two double clear rounds on the day, while Noelle Barry and Norway Venture were the only remaining partnership to make the jump-off, where they finished on four faults to take third. William McDonald and Palasbeg Chipalo missed out on a place in the jump-off after picking up a single time fault, however they did have the consolation of taking fourth place at the finish.

Cliona Costello and Annsgrove Clover Concord produced the fastest four fault score of round one to grab fifth place overall, just ahead of David Moran and Derg Showtime in sixth.

Banner win for McMahon in FBD Speed Series

Clare young rider Conor McMahon scored a win on home soil in the FBD Speed Series at Banner EC, taking the winners rosette with Diamond Clare Queen.

Liam O’Meara continued his good run of form taking runner-up spot with Billy Boston, while Emma Murphy and LVS Cruisante came home in third.

Clonal Costello partnered Annsgrove Clover Concord to fourth place while Liam O’Meara’s younger brother Martin O’Meara finished fifth with Lady Coolcaum, with Brian Gallagher and Ri Mac Quidam completing the top six.

Greg Broderick wins Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix at Newcastle West

Just a week after finishing on the podium at the Global Champions Tour in Estoril, Portugal, Tipperary’s Greg Broderick was back in Ireland, winning the latest leg of the Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League at Newcastle West in Limerick on Sunday.

Thurles based Broderick partnered the Noel Cawley owned Rincarina to victory when double clear in 35.29 seconds, ahead of league leader Francis Connors who took second place with the Hilda Anthony owned Uskerty Diamond Lady (36.32). Greg Broderick also filled third spot with Billy Cevelle, stopping the clock in 36.96.

Francis Connors and Capital Cruise produced the only remaining double clear of the competition (43,46) to finish fourth, while Olivia Roycroft and Milan Cruise finished the jump-off with one fence on the floor to finish fifth in 43.63. Maura Counihan and Killerisk Minnie also finished on four faults (52.96) to take sixth place overall.

Patrick Joyce Dominates FBD Speed Series at Newcastle West

Cork young rider Patrick Joyce dominated the FBD Speed Series at Newcastle West, filling the top two places on the leader board. The Killeagh youngster snatched the winners prize with Loughnatousa Cisco, stopping the clock in exactly 41 seconds, while he also finished as runner-up with Dusty Dude (41.50). Lorraine Young and Belfield Flight were just fractionally behind in third, while Sinead Kennedy piloted KEC Dauphine into fourth spot.

All of the top six jumped double clear rounds, with Waterford’s Gemma Phelan and Quality Coolcorran coming home in fifth, while Francis Connors and Dreamiller Houdini finished sixth.

Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League – Banner Equestrian Centre 18 July 2015

  1. Liam O’Meara/Realt na Carraig 0/0 35.06
  2. Michael Ryan/Ballylynch Wizard 0/0 40.26
  3. Noelle Barry/Norway Venture 0/4 37.92
  4. William McDonald/Palasbeg Chipalo 1/
  5. Cliona Costello/Annsgrove Clover Concord 4/70.34
  6. David Moran/Derg Showtime 4/ 73.70

16 Starters
Three Into Jump-off

FBD Speed Series  – Banner Equestrian Centre 18 July 2015

  1. Conor McMahon/Diamond Clare Queen
  2. Liam O’Meara/Billy Boston
  3. Emma Murphy/LVS Cruisante
  4. Clonal Costello/Annsgrove Clover Concord
  5. Martin O’Meara/Lady Coolcaum
  6. Brian Gallagher/Ri Mac Quidam

36 starters
Two-phase competition (faults and times not available from show organizers)

Connolly’s RED MILLS Munster Grand Prix League  – Newcastle West Co Limerick 19 July 2015

  1. Greg Broderick/Rincarina 0/0 35.29
  2. Francis Connors/Uskerty Diamond Lady 0/0 36.32
  3. Greg Broderick/Billy Cevelle 0/0 36.96
  4. Francis Connors/Capital Cruise 0/0 42.60
  5. Olivia Roycroft/Milan Cruise 0/4 43.63
  6. Maura Counihan/Killerisk Minnie 0/4 52.96

32 Starters
Nine into jump off

FBD Speed Series –  Newcastle West Co Limerick 19 July 2015

  1. Patrick Joyce/Loughnatousa Cisco Patrick 0/0 41.0.
  2. Patrick Joyce/Dusty Dude Patrick 0/0 41.50.
  3. Loraine Young/Belfield Flight 0/0  41.60.
  4. Sinead Kennedy/ KEC Dauphine 0/0 41.65
  5. Gemma Phelan/Quality Coolcorran 0/0 43.41.
  6. Francis Connors/ Dreamiller Houdini 0/0 44.25

36 Starters
Two-phase competition